Day 59 – Catching Up

There’s something so restorative about catching up with friends.  This morning I got to meet up with C, with her three gorgeous kids.  C is the most amazing mother, I feel in awe of her mummying abilities.  She makes incredible food from scratch and teaches her kids all kinds of cool stuff and when I ask her if she wants to catch up she piles all three (including super cute 7 month old) into the car and heads out to meet up.  Today I got to talk Thermomix with her, see her 5 year old’s amazing new sparkly sneakers, talk helicopters with her 3 year old and have lovely baby cuddles with her 7 month old.  It was such a nice way to spend the morning whilst the car was being serviced and the rain was hammering down outside.

zokoko

*Coffee here with C

Afterwards I headed down to the city to catch up with the divine Ms K who has dashed down from the heat of the NT to rainy Sydney for the weekend.  I’ve known her for 9 years and she’s one of those friends that whenever we catch up, I just feel as though we are picking up from seeing each other yesterday.  I used to get to see her most days when we went to uni together.  She is much younger than me of course, I went to uni as a mature student, but she’s a country girl and we so am I and so we hit it off from the start.

We spent 2 and a half hours ranting about our jobs, talking about love and relationships, my kids, her life in far away NT, friends from uni, where to from here and generally setting the world to rights.  We had barely sat down to eat when it seemed the time had gone and once again we had to say goodbye. Hopefully not for another year this time.

baddemanors

*Lunch here with Ms K

I feel very lucky to have such people in my life.  I’ve mentioned here before that I was not allowed to have friends for a long time and it was a lonely life without them.

So today, I am counting my blessings.  For having both C and K in my life but also for having all the other fantastic people who have come into my life and made it a sunnier place to be.  Thank you my friends.

Leave a Reply

